Dr. Hendricks is currently a Technical Group Supervisor, Project Manager, an ASME Fellow, and IEEE Senior Member in the Power and Sensor Systems Section, Autonomous Systems Division at NASA–Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL)/California Institute of Technology, Pasadena, CA, responsible for managing NASA-JPL radioisotope power system projects; and designing radioisotope power systems, spacecraft power systems, hybrid solar power systems, thermal management and thermal energy storage systems critical to NASA missions. He is currently Project Manager on a DARPA MATRIX project to recover engine waste heat in Extended Range/ Multi-Purpose aircraft. He was previously an Energy Recovery Program Director at Battelle Memorial Institute, Columbus, OH, and a Senior Program Manager at the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Pacific Northwest National Laboratory (PNNL) in Richland, WA and Corvallis, OR from 2005-2013, where he managed and led U.S. DOE and U.S. Army programs in hybrid power system development, automotive and industrial waste energy recovery, military energy recovery and power system development, and advanced nano-scale heat transfer. He was also Field Program Manager and the Power & Propulsion Task Leader in the Center for Transportation Technologies and Systems at the U.S. DOE National Renewable Energy Laboratory in the early 2000’s. Dr. Hendricks received his Ph.D. and Master of Science in Engineering from the University of Texas at Austin and Bachelor of Science (Summa Cum Laude) in Physics from the University of Massachusetts @ Lowell. He has over 35 years of professional experience and expertise in thermal & fluid systems, energy recovery, energy conversion and energy storage systems, terrestrial and spacecraft power systems, micro electro-mechanical systems, and project management. His extensive expertise is cited in over 80 reports and journal articles in the Journals of Electronic Materials; Materials Research; Heat Transfer; Thermophysics and Heat Transfer; International Heat & Mass Transfer; CRC Press Handbook entitled Modules, Systems, and Applications in Thermoelectrics, edited by D.M. Rowe, (CRC Press, Taylor and Francis Group); Thermal Radiation Heat Transfer, 5 th Edition, Howell, Siegel, and Menguc, (CRC Press, Taylor and Francis Group), Handbook of Heat Transfer, 3rd Edition, Rohsenow, Hartnett, Cho, (McGraw-Hill), and Principles of Heat Transfer in Porous Media, 2nd Edition, Kaviany (Springer-Verlag). He was awarded:

– NASA Group Achievement Award at JPL in 2015
– The ASME Columbia Basin Engineer of the Year Award in February 2009 at the Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
– The Midwest Research Institute/Battelle Memorial Institute Chairman’s Award in October 2003 at the National Renewable Energy Laboratory. He is a registered Professional Engineer in the states of California and Texas.